I chose to become a CWJC student when my sister-in-law Amy Cleary (who taught a computer class at one of the sites) thought it would be a good idea for me to get some up to date training to hone some skills while I was searching for a better job. I decided that CWJC was my best chance to build some skills that I could put on my resume in the shortest amount of time and help me get into a position that could build toward a career.

Prior to the program, I had been a stay-at-home mother for quite a while, working jobs here and there. Although I had a college degree, I had never been able to really capitalize on the benefits of it here in Huntsville. I had been raising my two daughters from the time they were seven as a single parent, working mostly in retail and customer service type jobs, always trying to better my circumstances with each new opportunity that presented itself. But jobs always seemed just about the same anywhere I went.

CWJC not only gave me some up to date computer skills that I could use on a daily basis, but also gave me sense of accomplishment, an empowerment over my future, a great new, long-term friend through the mentorship program, and best of all, a career in the making. I have spent time developing the skills I learned with the program, including data management and presentation skills. CWJC contacted me about a job opening that seemed a good fit for me. I applied and was offered the job!

Currently, I am employed by Cepeda Systems and Software Analysis, Inc., where I am the full-time administrative assistant. I also work on graphics layout and coordinate events for them, which relates directly to my degree in Communication Design. As of May 1, 2018, I have been named the facilities manager of the corporate office. My future plans are to take some graphic courses, to further my knowledge and training, and to eventually have our web design move in-house and work for that team.

Christian Women’s Job Corps gave me the confidence, contacts, and skills that helped me make life better for my daughters and myself.